Hole in VAR Disallowed

There has always been a huge flaw in VAR, just lurking under the surface waiting to show itself.  As of yet, this chasm hasn't been found in the natural course of play.  On Sunday, the referee could have covered it up for the league and VAR opponents.

What would happen if a clear error was made on a penalty call, but as time passed waiting for an opportunity to stop play to review, the opposing team scores!  WHAT WOULD HAPPEN?  We were sure to find out this weekend in the biggest match thus far of the year, as Sterling of City was denied a clear goal scoring opportunity by a Liverpool hand ball.  This clear penalty hand ball in the box was missed by the referee.  No big deal, at the first stop of play, everything would be corrected.  But immediately before the match found a dead ball moment, Liverpool rushed down and scored on an unlikely swift power strike.

So what now?  
 - Penalty!  And the latter goal is disallowed.  Kick from the spot.
 - Penalty!  And the latter goal is allowed.  Kick from the spot.

The question is ridiculous right.  Of course they could not allow the latter Liverpool goal once the penalty is correctly called.  In the real world of VAR and EPL soccer, the goal within the natural run of play would be disallowed and City would be attempting a penalty kick with a 0-0 score line.

But this scenario would highlight the huge flaw within the VAR system in the EPL.  How can you allow the natural run of play to continue if any meaningful actions could be wiped out by a VAR review?  Let me give you this example, that is different, but yet the same.  Let's say the clear hand ball was not called, and play was allowed to continue; just like in our scenario today.  But instead of a goal, a horrific tackle occurred on the subsequent run of play.  Straight red, or even a yellow if you prefer.  The match stops to check the VAR.  If a penalty is called on the hand ball, does the latter red card tackle get wiped clean as if it didn't happen?  Of course not right?  So why would a goal that occurred in the natural run of play be disallowed because of a referee error?  

Now you see the huge problem with the way VAR is handled in the EPL.  Does anyone know the correct answer to this conundrum?  Does the Liverpool goal stand or get wiped away from the correct VAR hand ball call?  Unfortunately the referee covered this mess up.  He "disallowed" the opportunity for the chasm in the rules to be seen.  

No hand ball was the call!  A cover-up of a broken system.

Photo Courtesy of Daily Mail UK.  Clear hand ball.

Comments